Snake Eating Its Tail

I am shot
in shock
there is blood
I am falling
I turn my head

I am surrounded
by the dead
of the bullet spray
red from the wounds
gritty ground rushes

Open your eyes
they say ok ok
jarring jarring
I am not dead
metal red taste
blackness like a shroud

I walk slowly with
my healing pain
I flinch at the jar breaking
at the coins falling
I live scarred but alive

I walk slowly
to worship in silence
God speaks
lemon pledge
now I know God is here

Safe in our temple
we worship
we know God
We know freedom
from fear if only

I am shot
in shock
there is blood
I am falling
I turn my head

I am surrounded
by the dead

Leave a Reply

