Wash Away

If I die before I sleep
And dream
Battle’s end
Will it cling to
Me as I go
Like sand
On my feet
Or blood on my hands?
Wash away wash away
As I go
Is there rest
Between this world
And that
Bringing that battle
To home peace
Wash away wash away
As I go
Freedom loses
To what was kingdom
Free blew away
With grains of sand
Covering faces
Obscuring enemy
Blurring friend from bomb
Wash away wash away
As I go
Green as bills
These hills and trees
Pour the sand out
boots
It spreads
Like deserts climbing
Into arid hills and caves
Hiding death
I cannot see
Wash away wash away
As I go
If I die before I sleep
Can I dream
Of battle’s end?

Leave a Reply

