Searching for Truth Online

I’ve been
D
O
W
N
This path
Before
I start
Looking high
Up in a tree
I find leaves
Green
On one side
On the other
White fungus
Spotted across
Broken branches
Tangled
Among the green
Empty nests
Eggs stolen
Looking up
I see weasels
Slithering away
I clamber down
Down
The
Path
I went
Looking
Round and round
What caught my
Eye
Beneath
Dense
Brush
Dead vines
Wild with dead flowers
Matted under heavy
Spreading thorn bushes
The path contracts
Tree trunks are scarred
And leaves rain
D
O
W
N
Heavily on the path
I am left to look
Underfoot
I find a large
Rock
Scarred and rugged
Pulling and pushing
I know it will
Go over
Over
Over
Over
Looking under
Rocks
Nasty business
With slim hope
Arachnids
Centipedes
Worms
Beetles
All run for cover
With no glint
Of anything precious
The only thing
Left
The bottom of
My shoes

Leave a Reply

